The Only Song

A thousand line verse
And chords to the words
The riff takes it higher
The untainted chorus

There’s a song in every bone of mine
A million little pieces of sunshine
Yet all the while all that I wrote
Was meant to mean more than the words could’ve hoped.

So sing me a song of dying and pain
Or tell me the tale of never-ending rain
Just come to me, talk to me, make me believe
That just the right note is all that I need.

In each song there’s a story afraid to be told,
Each line is a thought that’s afraid to be bold
But then you open your heart and your ears and your tears
And they sing the note once, but it lives on for years

So sing me a song of dying and pain
Or tell me the tale of ever-lasting rain
Just come to me talk to me, make me believe
That just the right note is all I’d ever need.

Leave a Reply

