Pink

Pink was the colour of the sky that night
Pink was the light of the day
She swung back and forth on the Roman swing
And shone her pink teeth all the way.
She smiled like a panther on the prowl
She licked her lips in a madman’s lust
Then her eyes grew pink and mouth opened
“Marry me now, or this love is dust.”
I said I’d love to be a father and have a pretty wife
But the bitch won’t be pink, and the kids won’t be mine

So she ran a way away and found a certain someone
Who was pinker than I and was ready to dive
She told me good-bye and have a pink life
While she got it on with he who we both had despised.
So I swung round and round from the ceiling fan
And I swore out loud at the pink summer sun
I sat on a perch as she married the mutt
I watched as she pinkly put love to the gun.
I’d have loved to be a father and have a pretty wife
But the bitch can’t be pink, and the kids can’t be mine.

I’d sung her so many of those pink April rhymes
Told her so much of my internal strife
She knew that I loved her, but married him still
She knew it would kill me to see her wreck her life
I went to the beach and rolled in pink sand
She called me and said we should still be friends
Round and round on the pink ceiling fan
As the world went to misery that could never end.
I’d have loved to be a father and have a pretty wife
But the bitch can’t be pink, and the kids can’t be mine.

Too young to be in love and make something of it
Too old to be in love and yet not know it.
Too pink in the head, too bent out of shape
Too wanted, too haunted, how could I have known it…
Now I spin round and round on the pink ceiling fan
I crash into the walls but I don’t feel the pain.
I wait for the pink sun to rise up again
I wait for the showers of love’s pink rain
I’d love to be a father and have a pretty wife
But the pink bitch has left me, and her kids won’t be mine.

Leave a Reply

