Raising Parents

Once upon a time I was a child
A danger to myself, a little wild.
Father would be there to hold me steady,
Until the day that I to walk was ready.

I bought my first bicycle at age nine
For all I tried I couldn’t keep it in line.
Mother would be there to hold me steady
Until the day that I to ride was ready.

Fifteen was when my education began,
To face a world of fraud, become a man.
Unsure was I, afraid, but not my dad,
He told me that he knew I won’t go bad.

Around eighteen, a strangeness came to pass:
Suddenly my parents were left behind! Alas!
I now had thoughts and ideas of my own,
And some of these were previously unknown.

In much too short a time their son did grow,
Too fast! And my parents were too slow
To adjust. All too quick it was complete:
Their love became the fetters on my feet.

A plea, therefore, that summarizes this verse,
To parents who think maturity’s a curse.
Do grow up, dear parents, and grow up soon!
Your kids will not keep waiting forever for you.

Leave a Reply

