My Grand Old Man

Do I remember the glint in his eye?

Can I see him, gazing calm at the sky?

Can I see his lips touch the China tea cup?

Can I see him laughing at Rotary club?

I’m a fair bit away but I miss him so.

I’m a fair bit away and I don’t even know

If he thinks of me, talks of me, frowns up his face

When he hears that I’ve only managed 2nd place…

That grand old man who’s everything to me

Is older each day like an old banyan tree.

His roots spread out still, little showers of wisdom

His words serve me still, when tough times come.

But the grand old man’s getting older everyday,

The wrinkles are spreading, his hair’s going grey.

He’ll soon start having trembles in his hands and toes,

What if I’m not there when my grand old man goes?

Leave a Reply

